The Australian Constructors Association and Engineers Australia have proudly partnered since 1997 in presenting the industry’s preeminent award – the Australian Construction Achievement Award (ACAA). Showcasing expertise in delivering complex and innovative solutions, the ACAA also recognises the social and economic benefits of infrastructure projects. Projects selected as finalists have been delivered efficiently and in a way that nurtures worker wellbeing, improves the skills of the workforce and promotes environmentally responsible outcomes. Collectively, we believe these features contribute to a more sustainable construction industry and are what makes these projects the best of the best.

Entry is open to all Australian construction companies (individually or as part of a joint venture or contractual alliance), with direct responsibility for the construction of the nominated project. The award process is arguably one of the most intensive. Finalists undertake a two-stage assessment process by a panel of independent expert judges. Finalists are chosen from initial entries, followed by a detailed judging process by an independent judging panel typically involving site inspections to select the winner.

2024 timeline

Call for entries opens: 1 November 2023

Close stage 1: 5 March 2024

Finalists notified: 12 March 2024

Open stage 2: 12 March 2024

Close stage 2: 13 April 2024

Judging tour: 29 April to 10 May 2024

Event presentation: 15 August 2024

Visit the official Australian Construction Achievement Award website for further information.

2023 Winner

M80 RING ROAD UPGRADE SYDNEY ROAD TO EDGARS ROAD, CPB Contractors and Major Road Projects Victoria

“The M80 Upgrade widened 5.7 kilometres of the M80 Ring Road between Sydney and Edgars roads, adding additional lanes, ramps, collector distributors, and a smart freeway system – all in and around live traffic flows of 165,000 vehicles per day.

Clever technical solutions and a strong innovation and sustainability culture saw the project completed a year ahead of schedule and substantially under the client’s budget.”


View the winner statement

2023 Finalists

Special thanks to our industry partners:

2022 Winner – Sydney Metro City and Southwest Tunnel and Station Excavation Works – John Holland, CPB & Ghella Joint Venture


Previous ACAA winners

  • 2023, M80 Ring Road Upgrade Sydney Road to Edgars Road – CPB Contractors and Major Road Projects Victoria
  • 2022, Sydney Metro City and Southwest Tunnel and Station Excavation Works – John Holland, CPB & Ghella Joint Venture
  • 2021, Zero Cost Energy Future – Enerven
  • 2020, New Museum for WA – Multiplex Constructions
  • 2019, Chith Export Facility – McConnell Dowell
  • 2018, Optus Stadium and Stadium Park – Multiplex Constructions
  • 2017, Melbourne Port Capacity Project, Maritime Works – McConnell Dowell
  • 2016, Moorebank Unit Relocation Project – Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction
  • 2015, Victorian Regional Rail Link Project – Regional Rail Link
  • 2014, Cape Lambert Marine Works, Phase A – John Holland
  • 2013, RMIT Swanston Academic Building – Brookfield Multiplex, and The New Royal Children’s Hospital – Lendlease Joint Winners
  • 2012, Port Botany Expansion Project – Baulderstone
  • 2011, West Gate Freeway Upgrade – West Gate Freeway Alliance
  • 2010, Melbourne Convention Centre – Brookfield Multiplex
  • 2009, EastLink Project Melbourne – Thiess and John Holland Joint Venture
  • 2008, Perth Seawater Desalination Plant – Brookfield Multiplex
  • 2007, Southern Cross Station Melbourne – Leighton Contractors
  • 2006, Runway Main Construction Works, Tullamarine – John Holland
  • 2005, The Bond Sydney – Bovis Lend Lease
  • 2004, Alice Springs to Darwin Rail Link – ADRAIL Joint Venture
  • 2003, The Brisbane Inner-City Bypass – Leighton Contractors
  • 2002, Woronora Bridge – Barclay Mowlem Construction
  • 2001, Queensland Clean Fuels Project – Queensland Clean Fuels Project Alliance
  • 2000, Stadium Australia – Multiplex Constructions
  • 1998, The Wandoo B Offshore Oil Platform – The Wandoo Alliance
  • 1997, The Glebe Island Bridge (ANZAC Bridge) – Baulderstone Hornibrook Engineering

Visit the ACAA website for further information: www.acaa.net.au

Please follow us on LinkedIn to keep up to date.