Australian Construction Achievement Award

Congratulations to the 2016 Australian Construction Achievement Award winner, Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd, for their delivery of the Moorebank Units Relocation Project.

As the largest single site Australian Defence capital works project since WW2, this project delivered 80 new buildings, including a much needed modern training facility for Defence while at the same time unlocking key industrial land for Sydney’s new Intermodal Rail Freight Terminal Project with an economic value estimated at $10 billion.


The Australian Construction Achievement Award was first presented in 1997, as an annual award to recognise and reward innovation and the highest standard of work in the Australian construction industry. The award celebrates the skills, productivity and prosperity that the industry brings to Australia.

Entry is open to all Australian construction companies (individually or as part of a joint venture or contractual alliance), with direct responsibility for the construction of the nominated project. Finalists are chosen from initial entries, followed by a detailed judging process by an independent judging panel involving site inspections to select the winner.

Previous winners of the award include:

Port Botany Expansion Project – Baulderstone Pty Ltd
The Glebe Island Bridge (now the ANZAC Bridge) – Baulderstone Hornibrook Engineering Pty Ltd
The Wandoo B Offshore Oil Platform  – The Wandoo Alliance
Stadium Australia – Multiplex Constructions (NSW) Pty Ltd
The Queensland Clean Fuels Project – Queensland Clean Fuels Project Alliance
The Woronora Bridge – Barclay Mowlem Construction Limited
The Brisbane Inner-City Bypass – Leighton Contractors Pty Ltd
Australasia Railway, Design and Construct Contract –  The Darwin Alice Springs Railway, (ADRAIL Joint Venture)
The Bond – Bovis Lend Lease Pty Ltd
Runway Main Construction Works Tullamarine,Victoria – John Holland Pty Ltd
Southern Cross Station, Melbourne, Victoria  – Leighton Contractors Pty Limited
Perth Seawater Desalination Plant – Brookfield Multiplex
EastLink Project, Melbourne, Victoria – Thiess John Holland Joint Venture
Melbourne Convention Centre – Brookfield Multiplex
West Gate Freeway Upgrade – West Gate Freeway Alliance
RMIT Swanston Academic Building – Brookfield Multiplex and The New Royal Children’s Hospital – Lend Lease Joint Winners
Cape Lambert Marine Works – Phase A – John Holland
Victorian Regional Rail Link Project

Find out more about the Australian Construction Achievement Award.

Services to Construction Award

The ACA Services to Construction Award was established to recognise outstanding individual contributions to the industry.

Many of the ACA’s member companies have played a major role in the development of the Australian construction industry. And many of those companies have been built on the imagination, the business acumen, the engineering skills and sheer perseverance of a small number of construction industry pioneers, whose personal and corporate skills have added greatly to the achievements of the industry as a whole.

However, before deciding to proceed with an award, the Board of the ACA determined six criteria that any candidate for the award must be able to satisfy:

A Life in Construction

The association expected that a candidate for the award would be approaching the end if his or her working life, having spent a significant proportion of it engaged in the building and construction industry in Australia.

Corporate Leadership

The candidate would, through his/her enterprise and initiative, have taken a leading role in the corporate success of one or more Australian construction industry companies.

Leadership in Industry Affairs

The candidate is expected to have been a leader in industry affairs, either in industry associations, professional institutes or in government advisory bodies relevant to the development of the Australian construction industry.

Management of Significant or Landmark Construction Projects

The candidate would have played a leading role in the development of one or more significant construction projects ‑ projects that were marked by their size and complexity or the engineering excellence that brought them to completion.

Export Development

The candidate would have made a significant contribution to the development of the export market for the Australian construction industry. This contribution may have been made through the completion of a major construction project outside of Australia, or through leadership of an industry organisation developing new market opportunities for Australian consortia. Finally, and perhaps most importantly:


The candidate must be of good character, such that his/her integrity in business affairs would be unchallenged.

Previous recipients of the award include:

Mr Geoff White (1996)
Mr Harold Clough AO OBE (1997)
Mr Ken Roche AO (1998)
Mr John Roberts AO (1999)

Sir John Holland AC (2000)
Mr Ian Barclay CBE (2000)
Mr Martin Albrecht AC (2001)
Mr Franco Belgiorno-Nettis AC CBE (2002)

Mr Frazer Henry AM (2003)
Mr Neville Walker AM (2003)
Mr John Cassidy AM (2005)
Mr Tony Shepherd (2009)